Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,...) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking

purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the backcloth of the digitalized world, people are bombarded with a variety of social networks leading to a controversial topic of whether the users should leave personal information on such platforms or not. Some assert that action would do beneficiaries as the method of communication, contact, and business's purposes whereas the others believe it would pose a threat to lives as the emergence of cybercrime. To some extent, I would like to argue that the issue has both merits and demerits.

On one hand, the idea of putting personal information on social media is beneficial to a certain extent. It is undeniable that such platforms namely FB, TikTok, and other similar things are taken into account for advertising reasons in a technological context. KOL and influencers, for example, can take advantage of social networks to meet potential customers and enterprises for advertising commodities. The business, in particular, can also effortlessly look for advertisers with specific contact methods. In terms of online shopping, that issue generates advantages for both purchasers and shops. Online shop or sellers can ask buyers for information that assist the selling process and the betterment of customer service. For instance, online fashion boutiques can counsel their consumers which size fits them best or what color is appropriate based on personal identification. Thanks to phenomenal customer care, the shops are able to enforce the brand image in customer's mindset.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why I believe that trend may trigger adverse effects. First and foremost, the emergence of cybercrime stems from the influx of new money-making ways via personal data posted on social networks. As has often happened, unaware users are likely to fall prey to hackers by clicking on links that break the security barriers. Once personal information is extracted, it will be used for scams, blackmail, or misinformation. Admittedly, a number of greedy firms with low business ethics are willing to sell their consumer's data for financial purposes that arouse a strong sense of irritation if it is used for telesales of third corporations.

In conclusion, despite the aforementioned drawbacks, I would argue in favor of sharing information online outweigh these risks because of numerous financial advantages brought back.