More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It has become common for people to put their personal data online for communicational and financial purposes. In my opinion, the benefits offered by this trend could hardly justify the potential drawbacks.

Admittedly, the trend in question presents certain benefits, chiefly in terms of businesses and services. First, from a consumer’s standpoint, having their personal information registered on social networking and digital banking platforms allows an increased exposure to various service offerings. This is because advanced data technologies enable consumers’ needs to be quickly identified based on their personal input. Thus, a list of potentially suitable service providers can be derived therefrom. Second, from a business’ perspective, a database of consumers’ information may help businesses gain insight into the market situation and make better decisions for their operations. For example, banks often analyse trends in consumer shopping behaviour, thereby devising more targeted marketing schemes which can yield higher sales rates.

However, users may very well find themselves in serious predicaments from putting personal information online. The consequences that may arise from a breach of cyber security can be catastrophic. As has often been the case on social networking sites, unaware users can fall prey to hackers by clicking on links that compromise their security settings. As such, users’ personal data may be extracted and used against their will, for blackmail, property fraud or misinformation. Moreover, there are chances that greedy businesses will commoditize users’ data and sell them to other corporations and industries for a profit. With their personal information in the wrong hands, users may have their needs, tastes and thoughts manipulated by dubious organizations.

In conclusion, despite its conveniences, the practice of putting personal information online proves to be more of a negative trend. The problems resulting from this practice can be more complicated and far-reaching than expected, especially in today’s digital age.