Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

Living in the urbanization and modernization era, people are bombarded with immense workloads, leading to an issue that the employees are likely to work more strenuously and longer. This phenomenon is attributed to a variety of reasons and causes numerous detrimental effects on mental as well as physical health.

The two prominent reasons why humans are at risk of becoming workaholics. First and foremost, a drastic increase in people's demand, especially youngsters, is underlying. To those who have higher requirements of savoring lives, they would like to pour their budgets into recreation activities such as lavishing banquets, traveling, or shopping. These actions are culprits leading to a laborious lifestyle. In terms of the economy, the monetary power seems to be diminished by inflation. As a consequence of the decrease in purchasing power of the currency, the labor needs to devote a great effort and endure longer working hours to make ends meet.

As the aforementioned causes, several adverse health-related problems are inevitable. The employees, nowadays, have to sacrifice family cohesion due to the lack of time that may exacerbate the generation's gap among members. Besides, it is crystal clear that white-collar workers usually have a sedentary lifestyle doing a great disservice to physical health. Sitting in front of a computer screen, for example, can trigger obesity, high level of cholesterol and also weaken the strength of cardiovascular system.

In conclusion, there are indeed a number of repercussions regarding hectic workloads which deteriorate people's well-being and relationships in the long-term.