Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Promoting products or services through KOLs and celebrities has never been less of a trend, and companies and brands are now turning to sports and athletes to achieve their advertising goals. While some people may believe that this is advantageous, I argue that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

Firstly, paying a good deal for sports stars may counteract and negatively affect their performance. This is extremely true in team sports, such as football. For example, when a brand awards the winning team as well as a player who scores in the match, there are countless circumstances when one single player succumbs to temptation of the prize and become selfish, as a result, one will try to net a goal without passing to or cooperating with team members. However, if the person is not in a favourable spot, he or she will lose the control of the ball to or even injured by opponents.

Secondly, commercializing sports blur the real meaning of it and offend genuine athletes. Realizing that they could make a bargain by becoming a sports player, a good few people decided to jump in the industry just because of money, therefore reducing chances for authentic sportsmen who pursuit sports as a passion. These half-hearted athletes may abandon their career after earning a certain amount of money or fame, resulting in disappointment from fans towards the whole field. Furthermore, money also leads to a win-at-all-costs attitude, encouraging bribery or the use of illegal substances such as performance-enhancing dopes.

In conclusion, there may be adherents of sponsoring sports stars, I oppose to this trend because it devastate the fairness in sport as well as counteract on players performances.