Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that increasingly companies advertise themselves via sport and athletes. While many people believe that this strategy can bring several merits to companies, I align with those who think it is likely more harmful impacts than beneficial ones.

Sponsorship sport or sports celebirites is considered as good strategy can be attributed by several reasons. One of the major factors is to increase brand awareness. As long as being supported, competitions, such as tennis or football matches, will hang around banners or posters of sponsors, and celebrities will use company’s service or goods publicly in not only sport but also their daily life. Thanks to this, firms can gain attraction from customers, since their brand can be seen everywhere, consequently, information about their brand can stick in people’s mind. In addition, this can influence the purchasing attitute of people, as a result, people tend to buy more products to support companies. This can bring more profits to firms.

On the other hand, alongside these merits, advertisement can be harmful to a company’s image. Being involved in scandals or controversies, sport organizers and stars may be all criticized by community, whether it is their wrong or not. They may be examined every single aspect in life, even the products that they endorsen, and have questions about the quality and less positive view about company’s products. It not only raises a decline in the consumption of goods and services as well as profit but it also tarnishes the image of a company.

In conclusion, the sponsorship for sport and sports stars can bring both merits and demerits. However, I believe that its drawbacks are likely outweight its beneficial impacts.