School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Foreign languages has been compulsory subjects at schools all over the world for a long time now. While a good few pedagogues argue that learning foreign languages should not be made obligatory, I totally adhere to the idea that children should be forced to learn a foreign language.

Firstly, learning a new language is beneficial to a child's brain. The process requires a lot of attention to be able to memorizing vocabulary and grammar, as well as to hear, to translate, or to conjure words that one would like to say. Therefore, undoubtedly concentration ability will be improve significantly. Moreover, research has shown that who speak at least two languages have a more flexible brain. Thus, they have better adaptability, which is essential in this globalizing world.

Secondly, language is the key to open doors to a child's future. Being able to speak a foreign language help students, especially who come from developing countries, become more confident and ambitious to pursuit education in countries which are more advanced and have better educational background than their own hometown. A number can explain us: In 2018 – 2019 school year, 24.392 Vietnamese students went to the United States to seek learning opportunity, which contributed nearly 1 billion dollar for the US economy.

People may argue that each child has different ability, therefore they should be allowed to study at their own will. By forcing the children to spend time on subjects that they dislike, we are discouraging them and deprive their time for other favorite fields. If that is an excuse, then there should be no compulsory subjects at all for children, because any course could be a waste of time if the kid takes no interest in it.

In conclusion, though some people may oppose the idea of obliging students to learn foreign languages, I believe that actually bring certain benefits to them.