Housing areas with taller buildings or building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

In the present millennium, the majority of the urban areas are expanding accommodations vertically while other cities prefer to build housings horizontally for their residents. Personally, I believe that apartments held superior benefits compared to the low-rises for several reasons.

Firstly, tall buildings solve the issue of land shortage, especially in densely populated municipal areas. People are flocking to megalopolis due to various reasons such as employment, entertainment, and educational opportunities, resulting in strain on the land resources. As a consequence, vertical planning has become the only choice in these big cities. Some people may suggest expanding the city into the adjacent areas. However, facilities focused at the city center attract dwellers staying in proximity to this place. For example, New York and Shanghai are metropolitan cities where establishing individual residence is literally impossible due to the increased inhabitants. As a result, they only establish multi-story mansions to handle this problem.

Secondly, high-rises are considerably more cost-effective. A house constructed on land includes the price of construction materials and that of the piece of land itself, not to mention the position of the spot. The closer it is to the city center, the higher the price will be. In big cities, where people are already under great burdens from high pricing, cheaper shelters are considered to be appealing and more affordable. For example, in Vietnam, a small house of 50m2 on land can be sold for 4.5 billion dong, while the cost of an apartment of the same area is only around 2 billion dong.

In conclusion, I believe that building tall houses is more advantageous because not only can it allocate a multitude of homes for civils, but it also reduces the cost to own a house compared to traditional single houses.