Cyclists and car drivers today share the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What can be done do to reduce these problems?

It is true that bicycles and cars sharing a mutual road increases chances of accidents. While this is a serious issue, there are measures which can be implemented to mitigate the dangers.

The major problem is the high likelihood of collisions on streets which are used by both cyclists and car drivers. Though cyclists are sometimes responsible for causing accidents when they do not abide by the traffic rules, in the majority of cases, car drivers tend to draw troubles with higher velocity and limit in the overview of the surroundings behind a layer of metals and glasses. For example, car drivers may not leave enough room when they overtake cyclists, or they may turn left or right without realising that this could put a cyclist at risk. Countless accidents have been attributed to smaller vehicles falling in the blind spot of massive ones. Such accidents frequently result in grave injuries, especially to cyclists who are particularly vulnerable, even when wearing a helmet for head protection.

In order to reduce the number of road accidents as well as death tolls, national and local authorities across the world have adopted two general types of policies. First and foremost, many governments have prioritised expenditure on constructing dedicated cycle lanes on busy boulevards. They also have invested in transport infrastructure by upgrading and expanding public transport provision. Secondly, authorities have introduced restrictions on car drivers. London, for instance, has imposed a congestion charge to discourage cars and motorbikes from entering the city centre. Traffic calming in cities and installing speed cameras also make the roads safer for cyclists.

In conclusion, calamitous crashes may happen when two-wheeled vehicles using the same lane as four-wheeled ones, steps can be taken to alleviate this matter.