Many countries are currently witnessing an increase in criminal activity among young people. Discuss reasons for this phenomenon and suggest ways to deal with the problem.

An alarming problem of metropolises all over the world is the rise in the number of young criminals. This essay will discuss some typical causes can be attributed to this issue, and some measures could be taken to deal with this worrying trend.

There are two remarkable reasons why youngster tend to commit crimes more in big cities. Firstly, the education system nowadays are focusing on knowledge of various subjects yet ignoring the importance of life skills and law. Without life skills, an offspring may grow up and have no conflict-solving skills, tolerance and self-control; without knowledge of law, they may not be conscious of which actions are considered to be violating criminal law. In addition, puberty is also an extremely sensitive periods as the hormones change and a teenager tends to be more quick-tempered and impulsive. All of these probably lead to violent crime stemming from a tiny conflict with friends or even family members. A sorrowful example in Vietnam is that a 15 year-old boy killed his own grandmother, just because she did not give him pocket money. Secondly, the rocket-speed of Internet and social media development means that the youth nowadays are easily exposed to online contents, the majority of which are unhealthy such as violence, crime and even pornography. Their immature brains may think some illegal actions look cool, absorb these negative things fast and apply them onto real life.

Several solutions could be adopted to mitigate this problem. One measure is that parents and teachers should pay more attention on educating law and soft skills for their children. With supervision and care from adults, adolescences are less likely to break the law. Additionally, parents also should control their children's time spending on the Internet as well as the contents they see to limit access to inappropriate topics.

In conclusion, causes of rising crime rates among young people in major cities can be identified, but luckily, some solutions could be applied to tackle this matter.