The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the Internet and the development of social media is shifting a part of our traditional face-to-face style of communications into online interactions. Although there are a few benefits of conversation via social media, I would argue that the drawbacks are more visible than the advantages.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that social media are great measures to connect people living far from one another. In today's globalized world, scattered family members or friends are no rare, and social media ensures people can keep in touch with their beloved ones anytime and anywhere. For example, parents living in Vietnam can easily see and hear about their children who are studying abroad in Japan, not only their physical appearance but also their living condition, thanks to video calls.

On the other hand, I would argue that there is no substitute for face-to-face interaction. Firstly, social media may discourage real interaction and prevent people from developing social skills. Important elements in proximate conversations includes body languages and skin touches, especially among lovers, or when one is trying to pour comfort into the partner's heart. A concreate example is the fact that countless couples in long-distance relationship break up because daily online conversations cannot compensate for kisses, embraces or touches. Secondly, a stream of continuous dialogue cannot be guaranteed when conducted via the Internet. Low and unstable network quality can interrupt the talk, resulting in participants losing their interest in the conversation or even in their partners.

In conclusion, although most people can now access the internet and social media are widely used, I consider that the lack of personal contact does more harm than good.