Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that an increasing number of women now starts a family and gives birth considerably later than our ancestors did. I believe that there are both financial and social factors that can be attributed to this trend, and I subscribe to the notion that it holds more advantages than disadvantages.

The option of having children at a more mature age recently has been common among women for several reasons. Firstly, regarding financial situation, the cost of raising a child is enormous. Basic expenses that exist on the journey of upbringing an offspring are food and clothing cost, vaccine expenses, education fee. According to some researches, it costs an average household in the West $200,000 to raise a child until adulthood. Therefore, before embarking on parenthood, a woman should possess an adequate amount of savings to make ends meet by spending longer time working before welcoming her first child. Secondly, in social terms, having children at a young age can be a huge drawback on a woman's career. In recent days, while women are well-educated and more ambitious in pursuing higher study or achieving certain positions in the society, it is difficult for them to focus whole-heartedly on their job if they keep worrying about a toddler at home. For example, 40% of managers avoid hiring younger women to get around maternity leave.

In my opinion, the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, it is biologically proven that women's eggs are at the best quality in the golden period from 20 to 24 years old. On the other hand, the ultimate objectives of reproduction is to create a more advanced and elite generations for the society. A child raised by a mature mother with higher social class undoubtedly enjoys a superior education and lifestyle than a child born in his mother's golden period but grow up in poverty with a mentally immature parent does.

In conclusion, women are choosing to push maternity until a later point in their life for economic and social reasons, and I opine that the benefits are more obvious than the drawbacks.