Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Environmental issues have been alarming problems for human for quite a long time now and have aroused heated controversy about what the most serious matter is at the moment. While several people state that the major problem is the extinction of some specific kinds of flora and fauna, I believe that there are other noteworthy issues.

On the one hand, the loss of some certain types of botany and animals may result in a lack in food chain. Every plant and animal are a part of the food, and if some chains are missing, other animals that live on that species may die out as their nourishment source is no longer available. This happens in chains and as human being at the top of the food chain, eventually the food supply for human will be in shortage.

On the other hand, there are more critical matters of the environment, and one of them is climate change. The extinction of animals and food supply may take time, but the effect of climate change, especially global warming is visible to mankind. The average temperature on Earth has increased by 1 degree Celcius since 1900, causing hotter weather and even draught in several regions. Human bodies best function at a temperature of 25 degrees Celcius, and 38 degree is the level where it starts to be harmful. Moreover, a warmer atmosphere can hold more moisture, resulting in intense downpours and more floods, which is the culprit of crops damage and death-toll.

In conclusion, it is undoubted that missing plants and animals has a great impact on human life, I argue that climate change is one of even more severe environmental problems.