In some countries, few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why? Should more young people be encouraged to attend and learn?

It is undoubted that nowadays there are fewer youngster taking interest in classical music. There are several reasons behind this matters; nevertheless, I opine that the youth should be encouraged to get involved in classical music.

Fancying classical masterpieces is less popular among young people can be attributed to the development of other music genres as well as the ubiquity of social media. With the booming of pop music in the 1960s until now and the spring of rap recently, people are exposed to these genres so often that they develop a liking toward them, thus spend less time for finding about classical music. Social media also helps promoted these new kinds of music, as a result, the tech-savvy youngster find it even easier to access modern melodies. For example, countless number of songs has been searched on Google and Shazam recently because people heard them through Tiktok videos.

However, I believe that young people should be inspired to nurture a taste in classical rhythms for two reason. Firstly, classical music is good for brain function, especially for children. A study conducted by the American Music Therapy Association proved that listening to classical music stimulates producing endorphins. This relaxes the brain and hence improves mental health. Secondly, classical songs belong to the past, and get to know them is one way to cherish history. For example, "Quartet for the End of Time" by Olivier Messiaen was composed while he was imprisoned during the World War two, which reminds us of a dark period in mankind history when numerous people lost their lives.

In conclusion, though the advance of technology and new music genres has taken leading positions among young people, I still believe that the youth should adopt classical pieces of music as they are advantageous for their mental health and provide knowledge in terms of history.