It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between

finishing school and going to university.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a gap year before attending universities has gained a great deal of attention among high school students. This phenomenon, however, still have its benefits and downsides need taking into consideration.

There are a number reason why having a year off between middle school and college are advantageous. Firstly, adolescents are, indisputably, offered an opportunity to travel in order to attain more insight into disparate fields which capture their interests, such as foreign languages or cultures. Provided with an excessive amount of time without being occupied by loads of assignments, teenagers are freely to express their true-self and, furthermore, develop their innate competence on various areas. Secondly, they also benefit from being put on probation for temporary job, which acts as a means for teenagers to experience the harsh environment of workplaces. Hence, hardly would they get perplexed when encounter serious businesses in future careers

Despite gap year can bring about huge beneficial influences on juveniles, its drawbacks are worth pondering. First of all, it is undeniably that those who choose to take a year off would be exposed to late studying. As a consequence, the majority of them are inferior to their peers in the probability of getting a permanent job with stable incomes. On the other hand, high school seniors have a tendency to be neglect in higher education after a long time not engaged in proper tuition, owing to the lost of self-disciplines that is, needless to say, conducive to their studying. In other words, a year spent on traveling and working inclines to demotivating students from tertiary education.

In conclusion, the idea of spending a year on personal experience before moving into college life causes substantial impacts. It is highly recommended on account of its rewarding experience, but do not underestimate considerable disadvantages, such as jeopardizing occupational opportunities and deterrent for studying that it may engender.