It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

A prevalent dilemma might be arisen as to whether pupils should have a break after finishing school and proceeding the education at university. This could have benefits and drawbacks both of which needs to be examined prior to arriving at any decision and that is as follows.

With regard to advantages of having a year off between school and university, many a pupil may find it sufficiently challenging to commence studying at university as they undertake studying at school from an early age. Thus, it is a great opportunity for them to take mind off things during this period of time within which the young brain can relax or engage some recreational activities. Another potential argument to support this viewpoint is the high educational payments which might prompt the young student to engage some jobs with a view to fulfilling the requirements of those institutions. As an illustration, a new student, whose circumstances somewhat could not permit to pay, have to work and study simultaneously which result in consuming precious time instead of preparing for essential subjects. Therefore, during a year given, they can earn some amount of money for the sake of facilitating the educational requirements.

Turning to the disadvantages of taking a year off between graduating school and going to university, it can be observed that some youngsters might change their mind by retaining the occupation they are engaged and, as a result, it is hardly likely that they, who without any knowledge of university, would become decently competent employees in the long run. Further justification to this side is that an inexperienced young student may consume his invaluable time in a year by doing nothing in place of satisfying the educational aspiration and objective. In fact, a university diploma without which one might not obtain a desirable profession, and due to that given a vocational year can turn into a time consuming.

Having taken this matter into account as a whole, it can be concluded that there is a powerful correlation between finishing school and resuming education at university. Young generation should reflect profoundly in terms of which way opt for on the threshold.