In most countries around the world, taking a gap year before enrolling in university is on the increase. Although the reason for this are varied, the rate of this is rapidly increasing. There are many advantages to take a year gap but there are still some disadvantages too.

Taking a year off poses many benefits. First of all, it provide valuable work experience to students in their field of interest. For instance, many students in Myanmar take a gap year to take short courses and training for their university lives. They may also become familiar with their working environment. This not only give them work experience but also equip for their future lives. Secondly, in this period many students manage to do jobs to make extra money in order to support during their academic year.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of taking a gap year are varied. It may become difficult for them to follow the academic timetables. Moreover, they may show no interest or even decide to quit their studies. In addition, compared to students having a year gap, those who went to university after high school are more likely to have a permanent job. In advance, they have better opportunity to get a job with stable incomes.

For the conclusion, everything has their own upside and downside. In my opinion, taking a gap year is the best option if they continue their studies, after returning from taking a gap year.