Nowadays, we live in a modern world where meaning of everything is changed. One of these subjects is position of old people. In the past, children felt a big responsibility to take care of their parents, however today this kind of feeling is ver rarely. Some people prefer to take a professional help to take care of old people and other people are not agree with this.

On the one hand, some people have opinion that it is the duty and responsibility of the families to help their old aged family members. Fits of all, a whole of elderly's life has been given for their kids and families such as live, love care and wealth, and become isolated people from the lovely community that they grow in is hurt. In addition, these people have sacrificed their golden years of life to fulfill the requirements of their children and now they require support of them then they should deserve that. As per the statement, "Blood is thicker than water", people's instinct is to live in groups, especially with their family members. Moreover, there should be a care-giver from a family for elderly people to give unconditional care, since after all everyone eventually will have to pass through old age sooner than later. If they were unable to do so, they should hire a maid to help them look after the elderly but at the same time to constantly provide the emotional and physical support for the members.

On the other hand, some people argue that it has been a traditional that most of the elderly would spend their remaining life in retirement village because of facilities that they offered. Firstly, nursing home provide professional service such as nurse that work 24/7 to meet and looking after their "Activity of Daily Living" which include eating, drinking, exercising, etc. Secondly, there are only elderly peers which could keep them company in retirement houses. Finally, they are mostly located far away from the city centre. So it will be quieter and more peaceful for them to spend the rest of their life.

In conclusion, merits and demerits of this trend are numerous. However, after analysing both sides, it is felt that aged people could benefit more at retirement homes. Not only because of professional nurses and doctors, but also because they could have fun with peers. Of course, environment and facilities are also an essential reason why elderly should be send to retirement homes.