Over the past decade, the food industry had tremendous growth and improvements. The demand for convenience food, due to the busy lifestyle of many people, is now on the rise around the globe. This essay will analyse both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

On the one hand, it is obvious that the convenience food is more beneficial precisely for modern society. Wasting lessen time for cooking at home, people should consume these type of food. They not only can be made easier and faster, but also more affordable than meals which can be cooked at home. Cup noodles, for example, are a well-known instant food which are ready to be eaten by simply adding hot water in it. In addition, ready-made meals are budget friendly and a desirable option for people who are live in a tight budget.

On the other hand, this trend has some drawbacks. Firstly, many people believe that this type of food may cause ailments such high blood pressure, cardio vascular diseases and obesity problems. This is due to the fact that people are not able to save enough time for preparation of home-made meals. Secondly, the inactivity of a person can lead to less burning of fat in the body resulting in an accumulated weight. Moreover, the presence of fast foods are prevalent in every corner of the streets, making it the ultimate choice. Furthermore, the excess consumption of fats and sugar that cannot be burned to energy will be deposited in the human body as unwanted fats.

In conclusion, the merits and demerits of this trends are numerous. However, after analysing both sides, it is felt that the convenience food are less time consuming and more diverse outweighs the disadvantages.