It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

When to pursue high levels of education is a matter of extreme importance. Lately, taking a one-year long time between concluding school learning and commencing university studies is noticeably gaining popularity. This trend has some drawbacks which in my opinion can be entirely superseded by its benefits.

There are a number of downsides associated with opting for a time off from academic environment for such a period of time First, students may get sidetracked with other undertaking, namely working, and decide not to resume their studying; As statics show, in the United States, 10% of students who take a gap year, do not return to college. Second, bridge year programs are highly priced and not easily affordable for everyone; For instance, volunteer programs are rarely free and cost thousands of dollars especially if they involve international travel. Thus, educational and economical factors must be taken in to consideration when diciding avout taking a gap year.

Nevertheless, two major virtues persuade newly high school graduates to defer their university admission for a year; Firstly, it provides them the chance to broaden their horizons and mature into adulthood; As an example prestigious universities, such as Harvard give a deferral option to their candidates as they have realized that a drop year helps youngsters become mature and focused. Secondly, through a leap year, young people can look into their interests and find out the subject they desire to follow accordingly. Many people report a change of heart about the college major they prefer to study after their prep year. Hence, new experiences and discovering true passion are exceptional advantages of a year off.

It is vital to choose the right time to begin professional education. Even though a sabbatical year before university or college indeed has a few detriments, I personally believe its remarkable merits prevail over them in such way that has made it quite a ubiquitous choice.