It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

When to pursue high levels of education, is a matter of extreme importance. Lately, taking a one-year long time between concluding school learning and commencing university studies is noticeably gaining popularity. This trend has some drawbacks which in my opinion can be entirely superseded by its benefits.

Opting for a time off from academic environment for such a period has two downsides. First, students may get sidetracked with other undertaking, namely working, so much that they decide not to resume their studying. As statics show, 10% of students who take a gap year, do not return to college. Second, bridge year programs are highly priced and not easily affordable for everyone. For instance, volunteer programs are rarely free and cost thousands of dollars especially if they involve international travel. Thus, education and economic factors must be taken in to consideration when deciding about taking a gap year.

Nevertheless, two major virtues persuade newly high school graduates to defer their university admission for a year. Firstly, it provides them the chance to broaden their horizons and mature into adulthood; As an example, many universities, give a deferral option to their candidates as they have realized such an opportunity help youngsters become mature and focused. Secondly, through a leap year, young people can really dig into their interests in order to find out the subject they desire to follow accordingly. Indeed, many people report a change of heart about the college major they prefer to study after their prep year. Hence, discovering true passion in addition to personak growth are exceptional advantages of a year off.

It is vital to choose the right time to begin professional education. Even though a sabbatical year before university or college indeed has a few detriments, I personally believe its remarkable merits prevail over them in such way that has made it quite a ubiquitous choice.