it is better for college students to live in schools than live at home with their parents.
Do you agree or disagree?
Many students are faced with the dilemma of whether to live in a university dormitory or at
home with their parents. From my perspective, a dormitory is evidently the better option
for most students.
Firstly, there is a common belief that living with their parents is better for students’ personal
development. Many people argue that students living at home may fully concentrate on
their academic studies because their parents are likely to support them in various ways,
such as by doing household tasks. However, I believe some students may become over-
reliant on their parents as a result, and thus do not develop the ability to live independently
in the future. By contrast, students who live in dormitories must assume responsibility in all
aspects of life. Therefore, they may acquire the skills necessary for self-reliance, ranging
from financial management and problem-solving to meal planning and home management,
all of which are essential to foster the all-round personal development of this group of
students.
In addition, there are several distinct advantages of choosing on-campus residences. The
most evident advantage is that students who choose this type of accommodation would
have easy access to libraries and various learning resources that are readily available at
university. Another clear benefit is that those living in student accommodation are exposed
to a diverse environment with people from various social and cultural backgrounds. As a
result, students are better prepared to live in today’s multi-cultural world.
From the issues outlined above, one can conclude that living on a university campus is a
better choice for students than living at home with their parents. I predict that the number
of students choosing to live in university accommodation will remain high in the future.