Having curiosity to know about the way of living in bygone days is common among many people. This is possible now with the help of visualization provided by videos and movies. Although it is considered a most appropriate medium to grab knowledge regarding history, I think there are many other methods to do this such as visiting historical monuments and reading printed media.

To commence with, there are many reasons why films and documentaries are believed to be a good way to acquire information about past. One most common agreement comes from people who say visuals are more preferred by masses . This is because these are interesting to watch. In contrary, books based on traditional information merely displays printed data. As a result, viewers need not to imagine anything while watching a movie.

Another reason is that films and videos have long lasting impact on mind than books. In other words, one can forget what one has read but it is hard to forget viewed scenes of a movie. For example, many movies were made based on real incidents happened earlier which are alive in still audience mind.

Conversely, there are two other favouable ways to explore about prior generations. Firstly, printed media is a treasure of knowledge. To elaborate it, movies are generally for 2 to 3 hours so it is no possible for films to cover all parts of past. In contrary, books can better do this job. Secondly, impression that historical sites leave on visitors no other medium can defeat it. In simple words, looking ancient buildings or objects live gives a feeling of living in the past for while or more.

To conclude, it seems to me that there are many other methods to study about history rather than only depending on movies and videos.