One of the major controversial issue today relates to the excessive consumption of water. Some people assume it is their right to utilise as much water as they want. Others advocate that authorities are required to monitor the domestic and commercial usage of water strictly. I would examine both point of views in further segments before reaching to a final conclusion.

To commence with, there are two prime reasons why individuals consume water excessively. Firstly, there is lack of awareness among folks about value of water. In other words, people do not know the fact that water is on extinction. Due to this, masses continue to exceed the limits of water usage. As a result, it seems that earth will soon run out of this most precious natural resource. Secondly, modern lifestyle encourages individuals to consume more water than they really need. This is because many machines which are domestically used require large amount water such as washing machines, dish washer and so forth. As a result, human beings are utilizing the most valuable resource without even thinking that survival of them and their coming generation totally depends of this.

On the flip side, few masses support the idea that governing bodies should regulate the utilisation of water due to various reasons. One of them is government has authority to aware people about adverse effects which can be experienced by mankind and mother earth due to over usage of water. This can be done through awareness campaigns. Hence, impulsive water users would realise that they are doing something wrong for planet. Another factor is that authorities can make distribution plan of water supply and people can be motivated to recycle domestic used water for irrigation purpose. Consequently, people will have to adjust with amount of water they will be allowed to use, and they could be able to save water.

To sum up, it seems to me that equal contribution of governing bodies and humans can curtail the issue of water usage and can help water comsumers to stop crossing their limits.