Some people think they have right to use as much freshwater as they want. Others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your option.

Water is essential to the survival of mankind. However, despite the fact that 71 percent of the planet is covered with water, only 3 percent of fresh water is suitable for use. While some people argue that unlimited use of fresh water is a basic human right, others object and instead argue that governments should restrict its use. Although I see merit in this restriction, I equally believe that one cannot be denied the right to use fresh water, as it is among the most basic needs of the human race. The benefits of both positions will be demonstrated in this essay.

Firstly, fresh water is not a renewable resource and thus requires government control to prevent its exhaustion. For example, human activity has led to both the melting of the polar ice caps and a significant drop in the percentage of annual rainfall. As these two resources are considered humanity's main suppliers of fresh water, it is clear that their excessive use for purposes such as filling swimming pools and carrying out domestic chores must be guided by a comprehensive government plan. Thus, the merits of government intervention in human water use can be seen.

On the other hand, because fresh water is a basic human necessity, restricting its access could be argued a human rights infringement [/color]. For example, in most of the cities in India the fresh water supply to the community through the public irrigation system is made available for limited hours only, whereas hotels and restaurants are given a 24 hour water supply. As this division in water access patterns the buying power of the people, it is clear that the rights of the poor are being marginalized. Thus, one cannot deny the right to fresh water.

Although there are heated debates for and against the use of fresh water, I affirm that a proper water supply system should be established in all major cities to provide fresh water to the public. A fair usage policy must be applied by the government and subscribed to by the people to save both the human race and the planet.