Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However,other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

• Almost every city has their own zoo. But some people argue that zoos are merciless and governments should close them. Others, however, believe that zoos can protect endangered animals. In this essay, both views will be discussed.

There are many rare animals that could get proper care in the zoo, such as golden monkeys, red-crowned cranes and pandas. Because most zookeepers receive professional training before they work in the zoo, they know the life styles and diets of the animals they look after. Besides, If animals have diseases, zoos have veterinarians to treat them. As a result, rare animals can be protected by the zoo. Furthermore, some endangered animals live in forests or other places outside of the zoo, so it could accelerate their extinction rates because of the many dangers. For example, environmental degradation could contribute to the destruction of natural habitats, such as deforestation, acid rain and aridity. Moreover, hunters also pose a threat to rare animals.

In contrast, some animals really died in the zoo because of inappropriate living environments. According to a report, there was a polar bear named ‘Winner’ that died in the zoo in Buenos Aires in 2012 because of the high temperature. Consequently, some animals should live in a special environment, such as polar bears and penguins. Even though some bad things happen in the zoo, we cannot ignore the professional zookeepers and veterinarians that provide a good life for animals.

In my opinion, zoos should not be closed by the local governments because they can protect endangered animals. However, I think that zookeepers should give them more realistic living environments, similar to the environments of their natural habitats.