It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, a gap year student concept has become a common practice for some students who took a break year after graduating senior high either to travel or work. This essay will firstly, discuss the benefits of the gap year from the perspective of student. Secondly, outline the drawbacks of the gap year concept from the point of view of students.

One of the main advantages of the gap year students is that the students will be healed from the burnout stress of the academic year and will feel relaxed and focused. Another benefit is being thrilled to learn life skills by applying for internship or volunteering in any organization, this experience that cannot be studied in school and travelling to new places that will help them broaden their horizon which cand lead to significant discoveries about their passion and purpose.

While gap year idea has its advantages, it might have its disadvantages. For instance, a gap year without planning the goals that must be accomplished will result to potential to waste time. Another drawback is gap year students who travel must pay many expenses and that will cost them a specific amount of money. Additionally, the gap year student will feel isolated and falling behind and these feelings are understandable, and all gap year students feel this way. Another one, is when a gap year student make a transition to go back to school from the break year will be difficult.

In conclusion, gap year idea is very welcomed by many students and is a common practice, but it has its benefits and drawbacks and not all students can accept this idea easily.