It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is wasted money, while others believe the opposite. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

More and more countries indeed allocate financial funds to host international sports events, such as the Olympics or the World Cup. Opinions are divergent on whether this allocation is ineffective or can gain advantages for the hosting nations. Although each perspective has its justifications, I contend there are more benefits.

On the one hand, proponents of distributing expenses for sports events espouse the environmental issues after the organization. At the event’s peak, there is an increase in the usage of plastics and the disposal of organic waste. This is an implication of sudden demand for essential items such as food and water. A standout example is when the Sundown Marathon, whose hosting country was Singapore, happened in 2017, more than 20,000 kg of waste was generated only from this event. However, this is just a single event. If there are more occasions as such, the amount will multiply, leading to the degradation of the local environment.

On the other hand, advocates of holding global-scale events, including myself, maintain that the expenditure for these occasions is worthwhile due to the potential growth of the economy. When these events happen, more and more people spend time and money on participating, either as spectators or sports athletes. This, as a result, creates more opportunities for the locals to run businesses around the areas where sports events are taking place so as to satisfy the increasing demand. This can be exemplified that during the time Vietnam held the 32nd Sea Games, it was reported that there was a roughly 20% increase in the local’s income, especially those residing around the location organizing the sports.

In conclusion, while some people are concerned about the efficacy of allocation for hosting sporting events, I believe that despite some environmental issues emerging during the events, the potential growth of the host nations’ economy justifies the expenditure.