It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the number of elderly people is predicted to increase significantly and would higher than that of young people in the future. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

The aging population in the future can have some negative impacts on economic development and society in many countries. Firstly, if people live longer and raise life expectancy in the future, the number of retirees also will increase. Therefore, the government will have to pay retirement pension for them but if there are too many retirees, it will make to reduce the government budget. As a result, the government could not invest more money in economic, which will limit economic growth in the country. Secondly, old people often have some health problems such as heart diseases, cancer or diabetes, so they need to receive the treatment. However, the disease treatment cost is too high, which could put a huge financial burden on their families.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why more elderly people in the future bring several advantages. One reason for this view is that old generation have wide knowledge about many different fields, so youngsters should learn from them. For example, old people can teach young people about the importance of hard-working, patience, doing one’s best. This is necessary for young generation in today’s competitive job market. Furthermore, when there are more and more senior citizens, elderly people would have demand about healthcare systems. The organizations will construct more old people’s home, hospital, medical centres and provide health insurance for old people. This can create huge profit for the companies.

In conclusion, although people living longer in the future will influence the development of country’s economic and create a financial burden on families, I believe that a higher percentage of old people in the future will have beneficial effects on individuals and economy.