It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Due to the decreased fertility rates in many countries, the proportion of elderly people keeps rising which has contributed to population aging. From my perspective, I believe that this phenomenon is causing more benefits than drawbacks.

To begin with, having an ageing population is often advantageous in terms of public security. As a general rule, it is likely that older communities will become more law abiding, since older people are less inclined to commit crimes which result in a little need for the government to allocate expenditure for prisons and policing costs. To be more specific, it is estimated that in 2012, crime rates for American individuals aged 18 to 21 were 17 times higher than for Americans aged 65 or older. Besides, compared with young people, retirees are more financially comfortable and find pleasure in voluntary work for the sake of the whole society, and thus, make several positive contributions to the community. For example, nowadays, there are more and more groups of elderly people established to provide free education for disadvantaged children or to clean the environment.

In addition, in terms of familial advantages, older people tend to play a role in supporting and maintaining family systems. For instance, elders are actually important in a time where the majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. Not only does it benefit grandparents directly who find that this is an important aspect of their lives, but also their grandchildren considerably. This is mainly because the elderly are familiar with traditional culture, they can uphold moral values to pass on to the younger generation. Hence, they play the key role in preservation of cultural identity, which is fading in the era of globalization.

In conclusion, the ageing population is often seen as a burden and their detrimental impact on the economy is exaggerated that causes their significant societal contributions to be overlooked. However, with all aforementioned reasons above, I tend to believe that a high proportion of older people is a positive development.