Recently we are facing an increasing number of cars, which poses a great threat to the pedestrians and cyclists. What’s more, a lot of parks need to be sacrificed as a result of the construction of railways and superhighways. Do you agree or disagree? What do you think is the best solution to satisfy residents to their heart’s content?

Ever-increasing number of cars commuting on streets and the construction of railways and superhighways taking the place of parks are the two emerging problems nowadays. These issues cause a lot of troubles to residents, and thus, sensible approaches need to be made to tackle it once and for all.

Firstly, great threats to pedestrians and cyclists can be seen from the growth of the number of cars. With huge sizes, cars usually occupy a lot of space in the parking lot or pavement, which creates the feeling of uncomfort and inconvenience to pedestrians. More importantly, road accidents when drivers cause injury to pedestrians while moving their cars without watching their way carefully are common and often fatal. With regard to cyclists, a high volume of cars travelling on streets makes it more difficult for them to watch out obstacles on streets, which in some cases lead to accidents. Therefore, to solve these problems, I believe the government should reduce the amount of cars, perhaps by raising tax on car-buyers. Also, governments should provide intensive training courses for drivers before issuing their driving licences, making travelling much safer.

Secondly, the destruction of parks to pave a way for infrastructure such as railways and superhighways is of serious losses. Residents in these areas are without doubt affected since they no longer have a place of refreshment and entertainment. For example, children at tender ages who always long to take part in outdoor activities, now are confined in their apartments. Besides, sacrificing parks to build roads also result in air pollution due to the decrease in the number of trees. Hence, it is imperative to adopt solutions in order to settle these concerns. It is recommended that the government and planners should have a suitable strategy towards these road constructions without destroying parks.

In conclusion, these severe social issues bring people several disadvantages. In my opinion, I believe that the two aforementioned problems can all be solved effectively once governments adopt suitable solutions.