Integrity is one of the most compelling factors when a company recruits its new employees. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that integrity plays an integral part in one’s success when it comes to seeking employment. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement, as it is impossible for companies to recognize one’s integrity within a short period of time.

On the one hand, there is no denying that integrity is an essential trait that all employers highly value. To be more specific, people acting with integrity are likely capable of handling responsibilities that not only can advance their career, but it also helps foster a positive company culture. For example, integrity people always arrive at their workplace on time and ready to complete tasks and if they have a conflict or a personal emergency, they will let a manager know immediately instead of arriving late or being absent from work without any notice. Besides, integrity is the foundation for a successful employee-employer relationship. It promotes a professional culture in which individuals can depend on one another and treat each other with respect that results in the increase in productivity and motivation at work.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that it is difficult to identify whether they have strong ethical and moral principles. In addition to this, in order to truly know about a candidate, companies need to spend more time talking and working together with them. First impressions during a short interview rarely dictate much about one’s personality, and thus, integrity is not a persuasive factor in recruiting personnel. Instead, academic qualification which is the possession’s evidence of one’s knowledge and experience is more crucial. Indeed, many big firms usually recruit employees by arranging several selection rounds such as preliminary selection where applicant’s academic certificate is always the first thing they look at. Hence, having those qualifications offer people a greater possibility to be hired.

In conclusion, even though integrity is one of the most important qualities of a staff, there are few chances for us to realize it clearly within a short time.