Some people argue that it is good for children to stay away from their families and go to a boarding school, others suggest that children live with their families and attend a day school. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, the notion of boarding school has become quite popular among parents. While some people believe boarding schools are an outstanding option for children, others think that students are better to stay with their families and attend a day school. In my opinion, students are given more advantages in boarding school than in public school.

To begin with, even though a day school is the standard educational model in most countries in the world, there are some disadvantages associated with it. Firstly, public schools typically have larger classroom sizes and higher ratios compared to any other type of schools which directly affects the teaching quality. As an evidence, with an abundance of students, it is impossible for teachers to truly focus on each student’s strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, students who struggle with learning difficulties or are particularly gifted may not be able to access the one-on-one tailored attention they need. Secondly, sending childrens to a day school can actually place more demand on parents’ time. Given the fact that the time spent on travelling between home and school, making children’s meals or taking responsibility for their homework eats significantly into parents’ day. As a result, it may not be an ideal choice with working parents who are too busy with work to take care of their kids.

In addition, there is no denying that boarding schools offer a great deal of benefits that are not available in most conventional schools. Going to boarding school cultivates children self-reliance, getting them used to the idea of being away from home. As boarders do not have their parents around who wake them up or help to do the laundry, they have to learn to fend for themselves and do their own work without waiting for any assistance. For example, they have to buy their essential items or make sure that their school uniforms are washed and ironed. Hence, it equips students with the independence they need to succeed when they leave the education system altogether and go out to work. Moreover, boarding schools allow students to reach their teachers round the clock as they are always available on campus in order to help their students gain a better understanding of any subject and achieve good grades. As a result, it is estimated that each year, over 90% of the boarding school students go on to earn an advanced degree compared to only 75% of public school students do.

In conclusion, every parent has to take in ensuring that their child gets the best education. I tend to believe that boarding schools offer a more inclusive approach to education, in comparison with day schools.