When visiting foreign countries, some people think that it is an advantage to learn their culture and tradition. How do you think people can learn other cultures and traditions? Why do you think that some people are interested in learning those traditions and culture while others are not?

Travelling abroad has been gaining popularity due to the boom of the tourism industry and the growth of multinational companies. Some people believe visitors should take the advantages to enhance the scope of their knowledge by learning other cultures and traditions while travelling. I personally think that there are several ways to learn about a country’s traditions.

To begin with, some travelers show great enthusiasm in the local culture and customs by putting efforts to learn the native language. It is proved that language is not only a means of communication, but it is also deeply related to the culture. For example, Asian people might be surprised to find that communication in Western countries is starkly open and straightforward, in sharp contrast to the intense use of non-verbal messages in their home countries. Besides, trying local food or putting on clothes with local characteristics can be considered as a good way to gain more knowledge about the local customs and even to build a close relationship with natives.

However, some other people seem to be not interested in learning those cultures and there are a few reasons that may account for their indifference. Firstly, some people are unreceptive and they tend to feel comfortable by following their own habits and routine. For instance, many Chinese tourists find it hard to use knives and folks and get accustomed to Western eating culture when they travel in Europe. Another reason is possibly that some tourists are concerned about offending local people if they imitate their behavior, particularly in areas where there are various kinds of customs related to religion. Therefore, to be on the safe side, some visitors choose not to contact the natives, or to learn their tradition.

In conclusion, visitors vary in terms of their attitudes towards the cultures and traditions of other countries. Learning the local customs and habits is an exciting experience for travellers while travelling but there are also some downsides to this.