In modern society, some people argue that schools become unnecessary as children can study at home via the Internet. Do you agree or disagree?

The rapid progression of the Internet is opening up a new possibility for students to study at home instead of going to school on a daily basis. Therefore, some people believe that schools no longer play an integral role in education. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea as students can entirely benefit from this advance.

To begin with, e-learning offers children a great degree of flexibility. Via these platforms, students will have the relief from the rigid school study schedules that most students in the world are subject to. This enables students to study at their own pace and unwind at any time, thus relieving them from stress and increasing studying efficiency. Besides, it can be argued that hardly would they lag behind when they miss a lesson due to unexpected situations, as opposed to those learning in traditional classrooms. This is because lectures or lessons are often recorded in the form of videos with detailed explanations and are always available for a review.

Another advantage of studying via the Internet is that it helps schools slash overhead costs, and thus enjoying a rise in quality. There is little need for schools to allocate expenditure for renting premises, equipping furniture such as tables, chairs or hiring cleaners and maintenance work. As a result, schools can reinvest in upgrading the educational quality by placing stress on the contents of courses delivered. In addition, students can also save tuition fees which is particularly a great option for those disadvantaged students. Similarly, with physical handicaps or who have some difficulties in commuting to school campus, online studying is an excellent way to lessen their parents’ burden.

In conclusion, although this trend may be accompanied by some drawbacks, I believe that with all aforementioned reasons, it can be expected that the Internet is very likely to replace a physical school.