Some people argue that it is good for children to stay away from their families and go to a boarding school, others suggest that children live with their families and attend a day school. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, the notion of boarding school has become quite popular among many parents. While some people believe boarding schools are an outstanding option for children, others think that students are better to stay with their families and attend a day school. In my opinion, students are given more advantages in boarding school than in public school.

On the one hand, there are certain conveniences of admitting a child in a day school. Firstly, day schools are a preferred option as their tuition fees are much less expensive than a boarding school which helps parents reduce more or less financial burden. For instance, Japanese students do not need to pay tuition fees in most public schools, but the expenses in boarding school can reach up to $20000 a year. Secondly, day school is a better choice for parents who wish to have close supervision over their children. Because it enables constant parent-teacher contact and therefore, it opens an ability for parents to monitor their child's progress in terms of both academics and extra curricular activities. To be more specific, parents can get to play a hands-on role in helping with their kids’ homeworks and projects, which can contribute to their children's academic success.

On the other hand, there is no denying that boarding schools offer a great deal of benefits that are not available in most conventional schools. When a child gets older, he or she may develop the maturity to handle the independence that comes with boarding school. As boarders do not have their parents around who wake them up or help to do the laundry, they have to learn to fend for themselves and do their own work without waiting for any assistance. For example, they have to buy their essential items or make sure that their school uniforms are washed and ironed. Moreover, compared to day schools where teachers are available only for a certain period, boarding schools allow students to reach their teachers round the clock as they are always available on campus in order to help their students gain a better understanding of any subject and achieve good grades. As a result, it is estimated that 50 % of the boarding school students go on to earn an advanced degree while only 21% of public school students do.

In conclusion, although both arguments have their own merits, I tend to believe that the benefits provided by boarding schools are far more than day schools do.