Do you Think Middle school Students should study International news as a subject?

Thanks to the development of communication technologies and the cost-effectiveness of internet services, our planet has become more linked in recent decades. Some people have suggested that world news should be included as part of school curriculum. In my opinion, students must be aware of the world's happenings as well as its importance and thus, teaching international news can be very advantageous.

To begin with, global news can help students have a wider scope of knowledge and a broader view of the world. For example, informing the pupils of international sporting events can enrich their knowledge about certain sport games as well as the sport team spirit, which encourages them to do better in school’s sports activities. Besides, the international news about a tragedy often sets young minds for unfavorable conditions. It encourages students to remain united to overcome adversity and its effects. To be more specific, when the Tsunami destroyed Japan’s historical monuments and its modern infrastructure, the tremendous effort made by Japanese people to overcome the situation motivated many young minds to think about plans to mitigate future disasters.

In addition, teaching international affairs at junior school level also develops students’ interests in early age. There are many reliable sources of news which are seen as a catalyst that attracts children and helps them in determining their study destination in the future. For instance, talented youngsters may get inspired by the fame and money that famous foreign singers or actors achieve and might want to pursue a career in arts. Finally, teaching international news as a subject can provide children an overview of certain events with a neutral angle and therefore, protect them from misleading information. As a result, it inspires children to have a constructive discussion within their peers and steer their minds to a happier life instead of being influenced by coloring information with subjective interpretation, which is rife on the internet nowadays.

In conclusion, in today’s modern era where technology and social media has taken over the source of information, learning international news could benefit students. I believe that they can gain common sense as well as social knowledge more or less that may be helpful in their future.