Many companies today sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that is a good thing for the world of sport. Others think this has disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many companies sponsor major sports events as a great marketing tool in order to promote their products nowadays. Although some people have positive opinions about this, others believe that there are certain downsides to this. In my opinion, when multinational companies sponsor sporting events, it is both advantageous for them and the sports.

When big organizations sponsor sports events, both the parties benefit. Sports competitions are promoted and people will get motivation to participate in various sports activities. In addition to this, talented youngsters may get inspired by the fame and money that accomplished players achieve and might want to pursue a career in sports. Most importantly, by showing their advertisements during these events, companies get a golden opportunity to access a wider number of audience and increase their sales. Similarly, sports events’ organizations get a chance to use that money to develop infrastructure and help their junior players financially. For example, keeping with its global philosophy to plant its name firmly in front of sports fans, Hyundai decided to sponsor the Cricket World Cup 2011 in India which is one of the world’s strongest emerging auto markets, and recorded an accelerated rate of sales turnover after the series.

Opponents of this view believe that advertising through sports events is a deceptive way of marketing commercial goods. In particular, companies with a highly rich background are providing large amounts of money for sports activities, and therefore sometimes, it may result in corruption. Furthermore, it would result in impulsive buying as people would be encouraged to purchase products which they rarely use in daily life. For instance, people buy products just because it is endorsed by their favorite cricket or basketball player.

In conclusion, even though both arguments have their own merits, I tend to believe that with a view to supporting sports lovers, firms should keep sponsoring sports events.