Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad.

In recent years, there has been a growing trend toward studying abroad among young people. While pursuing educational opportunities overseas is widely considered as a great life-transforming chance, there are a number of drawbacks that should be put into consideration.

On the one hand, there are a whole host of advantages that oversea studying offers international students. Firstly, the international institutions usually provide students a wide variety of courses, some of which may not be available in their homeland. Indeed, it is estimated each year, more than 35% of students from less developed countries choose to study abroad in developed countries such as the United States and England. As a result, students who study abroad are assured of having a competitive advantage over their counterparts who wish to study at home since they will have a chance to select courses that are tailored to meet the specific needs of the job market. Another merit for studying abroad is that it enriches students with knowledge and intercultural communication skills by interacting and communicating with native speakers on a daily basis. For example, Asian students might be surprised to find that communication in Western countries is starkly open and straightforward, in sharp contrast to the intense use of non-verbal messages in communication in their home countries.

On the other hand, there exists a myriad of challenges and problems associated with studying abroad and one of the most challenging disadvantages relates to culture shock. Some students find it extremely hard to adopt or get assimilated to the cultures of foreign countries. For instance, some forms of foodstuffs that are viewed as delicacies in foreign countries may be a taboo to eat in local countries. Moreover , studying abroad is thought to be a very expensive affair due to high tuition fees and other charges related to rent bills and air travel. Plenty of evidence proved that this happened to international students who find it hard to live and study comfortably in developed countries with decent educational systems. They in turn work extra to cover daily living costs, which directly affects their learning process as a sad truth.

In conclusion, studying abroad poses both opportunities and challenges. While young people can become polyglots and independent individuals, gain opportunities for personal growth and develop an appreciation of cultural differences, they have to cope with the stress of living overseas.