Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad.

In recent years, there has been a growing trend toward studying abroad among young people. While pursuing educational opportunities overseas is widely considered as a life-transforming opportunity, there are a number of drawbacks that should be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are a whole host of advantages that oversea studying offers international students. Firstly, the international institutions usually offer students a wide variety of courses, some of which may not be available in their homeland. Indeed, there are more and more students from less developed countries choosing to study abroad as many of the courses offered in their countries have become irrelevant to the needs and requirements of the job market. Besides, by interacting and communicating with native speakers daily, students have an excellent opportunity to enhance their foreign language skills and simultaneously explore the values and ways of life of the host country. For example, Asian students might be surprised to find that communication in Western countries is starkly open and straightforward, in sharp contrast to the intense use of non-verbal messages in communication in their home countries.

On the other hand, there exists a myriad of challenges and problems associated with studying abroad and one of the most challenging disadvantages relates to culture shock. Some students find it extremely hard to adopt or get assimilated to the cultures of foreign countries. For instance, some forms of foodstuffs that are viewed as delicacies in foreign countries may be a taboo to eat in local countries. Moreover , studying abroad is thought to be a very expensive affair due to high tuition fees and other charges related to air travel and upkeep. Plenty of evidence proved that this happened to international students who find it hard to live and study comfortably in developed countries with decent educational systems. They in turn work extra to cover daily living costs, which directly affects their learning process as a sad truth.

In conclusion, studying abroad poses both opportunities and challenges. While young people can become polyglots and independent individuals, gain opportunities for personal growth and develop an appreciation of cultural differences, they have to cope with the stress of living overseas.