The environmental problems facing today's world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. So governments and large organizations should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Humankind is facing a wide range of environmental challenges nowadays that lead to the feeling of helplessness in many people. They think that there is nothing that little ordinary people can do to improve the situation but the government and large companies must take the responsibilities. In my personal views, I completely disagree with this opinion and I believe only if individuals take some actions could environmental contamination be effectively alleviated.

On the one hand, solving environmental problems needs large budgets and various technologies, and the government and big firms have the ability to deal with these problems. For example, the government can implement eco-friendly policies and regulations to cut down the contamination and pollution. Similarly, corporations should enhance their technologies such as a proper waste treatment system to reduce chemical hazards in the air, water and land. These actions can really reduce the damage and help to achieve sustainable development.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that unless we human beings take some actions, the pollution of our surroundings could be a chronic issue to cope with and there are a lot of deeds that individuals might probably adopt to reduce the negative effects on the environment. Firstly, it is possible for citizens to enhance their own awareness of being friendly to their living places. For example, people should change their daily habits such as using public transportation instead of personal vehicles, reducing household wastes or replacing plastic material with biodegradable packaging when we go shopping. As a result, this will eliminate the vast amount of fossil waste that is going into the food sources of animal pieces every day.

In conclusion, it is the whole society’s responsibility to improve the situations and protect the environment. In terms of individuals, efforts and attempts are also an integral part of the aim to create a better living environment.