It is important for all towns and cities to have large outdoor public spaces such as squared and parks. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people claim that the construction of large public spaces such as squares and parks is very crucial. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement as the presence of these projects could bring about several benefits.

To begin with, creating open spaces would help improve the quality of life of inhabitants of urban locations by much required relief from the suffocating urban landscape dominated by built-up structures or skyscrapers. These places with views of open skies, and gardens laden with greenery can render a relaxing environment and let people experience a healthy lifestyle. For example, it is estimated that each year well over half the UK population make more than 2.5 billion visits to urban green spaces to enjoy themselves. Besides , public spheres aso open a new ability for people to express themselves fully. This might involve meeting new people, rekindling with old friends or participating in activities in the space. Namely The Bean Sculpture in Chicago is a great example of where people are comfortable to interact with the objects while bringing out the best in people.

Another advantage is that a high-quality public environment can have a significant impact on the economic life of urban centres, and is therefore an essential part of any successful regeneration strategy. As towns increasingly compete with one another to attract investment, the presence of good parks, squares, gardens and other public spaces becomes a vital business and marketing tool. For example, companies are usually attracted to locations that offer well-designed, well-managed public places and these in turn attract customers, employees and services. Moreover, a good public landscape also offers very clear benefits to the local economy in terms of stimulating increased house prices, since house-buyers are usually willing to pay to be near green space.

In conclusion, due to the aforementioned reasons, it is necessary to build such community places in towns and cities. I feel that gardens and public squares can help rejuvenate distressed inhabitants, as well as the area economy.