It is important for all towns and cities to have large outdoor public spaces such as squared and parks.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many citizens are of the opinion that there should be the appearance of public parks and squares in every town and cities. From my perspective, while I agree with this view, I also believe that other issues are of great importance.

There are certain benefits of investing in parks and squares. First and foremost, it is essential to provide local residents with those places for the sake of improving public health. In reality, the majority of employees are dealing with hectic work schedules on a regular basis in order to cover their daily expenses. For that reason, having such places gives them an opportunity to breathe some fresh air and organize outdoor activities to boost their mental health. Secondly, if squares are built, local inhabitants are likely to have more interaction with others. Nguyen Hue walking street located in Ho Chi Minh City is a typical example. In general, social events are frequently held there, which allows them to widen their social circle with those who have similar interests.

On the other hand, constructing parks and squares has an unavoidable impact on the national economy, therefore, local authorities are advised to take this issue into account. Instead of spending a large amount of money on maintenance annually, governments should make investments in building more housing areas and improving traffic infrastructure and provide financial support to disadvantaged people in unpredictable situations such as floods or Covid-19 pandemic.

In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, the construction of parks and squares in towns or cities brings some obvious benefits as mentioned above, governments also need to consider some other aspects of life.