It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sport person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought by some that people have inherent abilities for certain activities such as sports and music, others consider that any child can develop these talents. Personally, I think these claims are both true due to my experiences in life.

Even though it seems mystical, most people who became great in sports started demonstrating such gift from a very tender age. Thus, it can only be supposed, they had this inherent ability. Moreover, it is witnessed that people who became a model in sport or music had a family history of such activities. For instance, Michael Jackson, who later became the king of pop, had a father who was a musician, and so were his siblings (the Jackson Five).

On the other hand, the development of skills is learnt and dexterity is gained through much practice. In other words, any child who is exposed to these types of learning processes, cultivates the capacity for such act. One of the greatest footballer of all times, Pele, was taught how to play soccer at a football academy in Brazil. Whereas he was not the best at the time, he was consistent and at age 18, he was an international icon in soccer to be reckoned with.

In conclusion, I believe that even though music and sport runs in the family, as children from these homes are exceptionally clever in learning such skills later in life, these abilities can also be learnt by children who are exposed to such trainings.