Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as housing and food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Natural disaster has left many people homeless and hungry. I believe rich countries ought to accept and cater for refugees, in order to reduce mortality rate, and help them fulfil their dreams in life.

Survival rate for refugees is very low, because they are exposed to harsh weather conditions and hunger. Since they are impoverished and can not get good housing and food, they die of cold and hunger. To illustrate, internally displaced persons due to war in Somalia have the highest death ratio in that country, primarily, due to hunger and harsh climate. In addition, rehabilitation services can be rendered in the camps to help the depressed out of depression and suicidal thoughts.

Another reason why wealthy nations should take care of them is because, these people have dreams they want to fulfil in life. Being displaced and not able to go about their daily activities will not afford them the opportunity to work towards fulfilling their passions in life. Hence, they need adequate place of abode and nutrition to help motivate and keep their goals alive. John West, for instance, grew up in the American home for displaced persons, and became one of the leading icons in the world of Mathematics. His passion for calculation remained unaffected, because he was cared for.

In conclusion, most homeless people are a product of natural disaster and need shelter and food to survive. I think developed counties can be of tremendous benefit in reducing death rate among them, and help them in living out their dreams.