It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Many people believe that it is better to give money instead of make presents. In my opinion, this option sometimes is very useful, although there are reasons which is not fully acceptable.

It is evident, that giving money to someone instead of giving him a gift may be proved relieving for both. This is because money can be used in a more flexible way which may result more appropriate and appreciated from the person who receives the money in change of a gift. For example, if a boy who wants a toy receives a cloth instead is unhappy, while if he is being given money he could use them to buy the toy that he wants. As we see money are more convenient as a solution and also keep both sides highly satisfied.

On the other hand, gifts are more than the satisfaction of a present circumstance. Presents sometimes represent something which bond people together. These items, very personalized, are meant to establish a connective memory and common experience between the two involved parts, he who gives the present and the other who takes it. For example, a ring with diamonds may have the same price as a car but there is no one that when he proposes to his future spouse would give her, on the act, the correspondent amount of money instead of the ring. This proves the necessity of giving presents.

In conclusion, it is clear that money is usually more convenient than giving to someone a present, but there are occasions and circumstances that it is definitely necessary to make presents.