Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Today people tend not to have direct contact, as they prefer the social media and the indirect digital approach. Some consider it advantageous, while other clearly blame this progress of technology. In my opinion, there are advantages, but in circumstances of exaggerate use this will turn against society.

On the one hand, there are those who find this online socializing extremely convenient. Firstly, because this technological advancement gives the opportunity to meet people almost anytime and anywhere on Earth. Secondly, this use of digital means provides a degree of safety and invulnerability to both parts that meet.

On the other hand, the use of this social media networks may hide some serious hazards for the nature of the human social behaviors. By this I mean that it may produce a clear sense of estrangement from what real life is about by abolishing the genuine human touch from the relationship which struggles to be built. Another important thing that someone should take into account is the degree of the false or fake features that may be projected through this platform as someone, deliberately or by his will to be more acceptable, may project on this online socializing. It is easy for someone to think that behind the physical detouch that is provided by the online social media many people may lie about them selves in order to give a better impression of their selves. That is the reason for the acute reaction against the unlimited use of this platform to be in contact with the others.

In conclusion, although there undisputable arguments that give reasons for the use of the internet for socializing, although we should be aware of the dangers that are hidden behind its use on this purpose.