It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Giving gifts on different special occasions has long been part of various societies. Nowadays, it is often argued that this practice should not be supported because money is not spent wisely on gift items. In my opinion, giving presents is important as it expresses certain feelings, and is deeply connected with culture. Also, I believe gifting some useless items or as a dowry should be condemned.

To begin with, gifts make some occasions very special, and some relations meaningful. Although people buy presents on every special day, some days are more special than others. On Women's Day, for example, to recognise the contribution of women, and to show respect and love to her, family members can gift a book, some flowers, or a jewellery item. This type of action creates strong bonds among family members. Moreover, there is a cultural aspect of giving presents. If this cultural trait is not followed, people might experience a different attitude from others. For example, when people are invited to a marriage function in India and Bangladesh, they are always expected to present something, otherwise, they feel socially excluded.

In contrast, in some countries, dowry is taken in the form of a gift. For example, in South African weddings, the groom receives a cow or goat from the bride's family, this is now commonly called a gift, but this is given as dowry. In the present day, giving such a gift should not be encouraged. Moreover, presenting useless things is pretty normal these days. During many social parties, such as birthdays, anniversaries, or weddings, there are some familiar items given by the guests, such as crockeries, bedsheets, and cheap clothes. Most often, these items are not up to the standard, so people cannot use them.

In conclusion, presenting something exceptional on a special day is a meaningful practice and this has a cultural value too. But, gifting something which cannot be used should not be promoted. Also, it is important to prohibit the system of dowry. Therefore, giving gifts is a good practice, until it is valued and treated with respect.