It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people have suggested that the practice of gift giving should no longer be sustained, as it entices people to spend money on items that are neither needed or desired. I largely disagree with this view and I will explain in the following essay.

It should be recognized that gift buyers do not always make the best shopping decisions. Gifts such as books, garments and jewels are widely considered as popular gift options. Owing to such ubiquity, people may buy these items, for lack of either viable options or knowledge about what could cater for the recipient's needs. In these cases, it is true that shopping for presents could result in a wasteful expenditure of money.

However, I would argue that gift exchanging is a meaningful practice that should be continued. To begin with, purchases of presents would only be meaningless if they were done arbitrarily and without consideration. In contrast, mindful gift buying with insights into what the recipient wants can lead to the giving of practical presents. Additionally, there is more to a gift than just its practical use. Albeit of little use in real life, a trinket of a region or a special local handicraft can fill a recipient with a sense of appreciation, which may strengthen their bond with the gift giver.

The last point to add is that aside for buying gifts, people can also make gifts by hand. Handmade gifts that have great sentimental values, such as scrapbooks or a memory jar, can be made without needing a great sum of money.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that unplanned gift shopping could be a waste of money, I contend that exchanging presents should be encouraged, as long as it is done in a thoughtful manner.