In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly, parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone.

To what degree should parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 years old children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

It is observed that in many nations, the age of sixteen marks an important transitioning phase of greater degree of independence for youngsters. Undoubtedly parents need to look after and guide their adolescents as they are given specific novel responsibilities and rights. However, there is a limit to parental intervention in the lives of the 14-15-year-olds.

On one hand, parents’ approach to instructing their children should be both flexible and strict, allowing children to voice their own opinions whilst still exerting a constructive influence over their decisions. The first aspect requires coaching is the skill to rank priorities according to their significance. For instance, adolescents may negotiate the time they spend on school work and social events, but should they fail to keep up with school, punishments such as being grounded on weekends until the desired scores are attained should be implemented. Another important area that parents need to prepare their children for is making sensible financial decisions. For example, young children could be given weekly allowances and taught to use price-comparison websites to buy the things they need at the best price.

On the other hand, there are important notes to how far should parents of 14, 15 year old children interfere with their lives. To begin with, they should not impose their own preferences onto their children. For instance, the decisions regarding field of specialisation, career orientation or relationships with other people should not be the reflection of the parents’ preferences but the children’s will. Putting children under absolute obligation to please the parents may cause an increasing sense of resentment among children towards the older authority figures, which may catalyze them to adopt an anti-social and rebellious behavior to express their independence.

In conclusion, to prepare for a new mark of higher degree of freedom and responsibilities, parental instructions are indispensable. However, it is important to maintain a balance between the parents’ opinions and their children’s own perspectives to get the best outcomes.