Learning to manage money is one of the key aspects of adult life. How in your view can individals best learn to manage their money?

Financial management skills are an intergral part of being an adult. In my opinion, there are several ways members of society can learn to control their budgets.

Firstly, there should be a list of priorities with items ranked from most important to least important. Bills for daily foods, electricity, sanitation should be placed at the top and other less essential expenses such as for the newest designs of fashionable clothing and footwear should be ranked lower down the list. This allows consumers to focus their financial resources on things that are of paramount importance to their daily life and not get bogged down in the other attractive shopping options. However, this practice may also cause people to feel restricted and often unable to use their money to explore other aspects of life outside covering living expenses.

To deal with the issue above, it is advised that an adequate portion of people’s disposable income should be invested in recreational activities such as hobbies, music, books or arts. For instance, in modern times, a lot of young people save up money and spend it on short holidays with family, occasional gatherings with friends or tickets for music festivals. Using money in this way allows them to satisfy their own social and emotional needs and thus, significantly heightens their quality of life. Nontheless, addressing both financial and spiritual needs is not an easy task. In order to do so, consumers need to take into consideration their own financial capacity, the actual values of their investments for their life and try to steer clear of the temptation from conspicuous consumption, which would cause them to buy things only because of the vague sensation of superiority instead of any practical needs.

In conclusion, skills for managing money can be built up by establishing clear spending priorities for vital consumer goods while still having allowances for other activities that can give intangible values of satisfaction.